The light at the edge of the woods is a bath

November 24, 2012 § 6 Comments

The captain from the ‘B Ship’ in the HitchHikers Guide to the Galaxy: He liked his baths too, sensible chap.

It seems there are two types of people, those that shower and those that bath. I’m normally  a shower person, but I used to be a bather. In fact when I was growing up, in 70s northern England, having a shower was for posh people, or those from ‘down south’. In fact, where I grew up, I’d probably have been beaten up at school if I’d had a shower  (beaten up by both the teachers and the other kids…).

I eventually did become one of the posh kids and had my first own, private shower, when I bought my first house at age 30. Even then, the house was so run down that the shower was held up by Sellotape.

Ever since, I have showered, it’s just quicker and you don’t have to wait around for a bath to fill up.

But today, I was having  a sore day and my chest was bad and I felt generally unwell – probably because of tapering the prednisolone. I felt like I needed some soothing, something that would ease my aches and pains and suddenly I remembered I have a bath! That strange white thing in the corner of the bathroom with shiny taps on the end that allow water to flow out of them.

So I ran the bath and yes it took ages to fill up. But when I got into it, the immediacy of the soothing effect was astonishing. I instantly felt comforted. The aches and pains flitted off into a memory and even my breathing problems subsided. I lay there in a happy bubble feeling almost normal.

As I lay there, I remembered back to my first shower after getting out of hospital for the first time; I remembered being afraid of falling because I was so shaky and weak. I remembered needing Steve to come in afterwards and change my biopsy dressings and put my creams on. I remember feeling very ill.

And as I remembered all of those feelings I thought to myself, haven’t I come a long way.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The light at the edge of the woods is a bath

  • Kim says:

    What a wonderful thing, the bath! I am so glad you have come such a long way my friend! ♥

  • lisadeluxe says:

    ‘Go on spoil yourself!’ I’m always forgetting that. But when I do remember it always helps. You could even get some epsom salts in it – but take care you don’t over do that!
    Love and wishing you better each day! Lisa x

    • susiemorrow says:

      Crikey, theres a blast form the past, epsom salts. They used to come in lovely tins didn’t they. Or am I thinking of liver salts, which is something entirely different.Thanks for the bath advise Lisa, you were the one who reminded me about it – take care yourself as well my friend xxx

  • I’m glad to have come back to your blog! I’ve missed reading you, but life gets so busy. A bath is a beautiful thing. I find it immensely comforting that such a simple thing has such power. I used to sometimes take two baths a day–just short ones–but something about being immersed in warm water, unable to do anything else, because I’m well, immersed in warm water, so so therpeutic. I’m so glad it helps the physical stuff, too. Remember, you can always take more than one bath a day:) Be well.

    • susiemorrow says:

      More the one bath day!!! I couldn’t possibly be that decadent 😉

      Mind you just those words you used, ‘immersed in warm water’ make me want another.

      Life does get busy, especially with small children around. xx

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading The light at the edge of the woods is a bath at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

