The End of Chemo – Here’s Hoping

November 7, 2012 § 2 Comments

 

Well this week was chemo number six and I hope it was the last one.  It has been a tough couple of weeks and I have to say that this week I have felt totally depleted – I think the expression I used to some friends was feeling like a truck had literally hit me.  While I wanted to be excited about getting through the chemo I didn’t really have the energy  – maybe in a couple of weeks when by body starts to get over some of the drugs.  I have a PET scan scheduled for the first week of December which I am hoping will be positive.  I think it will be – I feel pretty positive in myself that the outcome will be OK, though sometimes I dare not get to confident, just in case.  Over the next month I still need to have a two doses of the Rituximab but am told that it doesn’t have the same side effects as the deadly chemo drugs.

At this stage my skin is a bit splotchy, I still have the metallic taste, feel exceptionally tired and while my mouth is not too bad at the moment recent experience is that is gets bad the second week after chemo.  So that’s what I am anticipating for next week.

I still know there is a way to go – and thinking about having to get back on my feet and finding a job is pretty daunting at present.  That is probably what worries me the most.  But I have a goal – to meet Sus in Rome around September next year when we are both feeling well and able to reflect on what a big year 2012 has been and how we faced the challenges, the demons and beat them all.  It is more than something just to look forward to – it will be a significant milestone for us both and we are both determined to get well so we can celebrate our respective achievements.  I have no doubt we will have a marvellous time and lots and lots of laughs – that in itself is worth work towards.

For the moment let’s just see what the next week brings.

 

§ 2 Responses to The End of Chemo – Here’s Hoping

  • This must be the lowest bit – we should start feeling better in a week or two. I’m feeling very tired (ploughed through a plateful of liver last night!)
    Hey, can I meet you in Rome, too?!!!!! (Only joking….)

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Hi Victoria

      You are mote than welcomed to meet us in Rome. What a lovely time we would all have. i’ll let you know when we have out plans in place !!!! In the mean time we all just soldier on.

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading The End of Chemo – Here’s Hoping at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

