Road to recovery, part 2: The long and winding road

October 13, 2012 § 4 Comments

In the area of the UK where I live there’s a scheme called ‘Healthy Life’ where if you’ve had a heart attack, or cancer, or other serious illness you can be referred by your GP to have a fitness assessment and a plan of action built for you to get you fit again. So, my GP referred me to this scheme and I had an assessment by a nurse, who has put my under the wing of a fitness instructor to…get fit…

I had my first session on Friday. To say I was pathetic overstates my capabilities. I almost started crying, trying to do leg presses. I eventually managed 2 on the lowest setting. I cried because I remembered going to the gym before this disease hit me and being able to do leg presses to my hearts content. It really hit home how poorly and weak I am. I did do 5 minutes on a exercise bike, again on the lowest setting and did some mini arm exercises and another 5 minutes on a treadmill: It’s sad and hard, but it is a start.

I am in a bit of pain today (the day after as I write) especially in my hips, but  I have to keep going. The doctor says I need to find my limit and not overreach it, pain being the indicator. But I’m in some pain a lot of the time anyway, so how do I really judge if it’s the gym or the disease causing it?

Whatever, I’m going to another session tomorrow – this road to recovery may be long and hard, but at least I’m on it.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Road to recovery, part 2: The long and winding road

  • xmlgrrl says:

    You’re doing a great thing! Every day you do even a little bit, you’re “using it” instead of “losing it”, and progress will follow. I fell and hurt my hip in March — a super-minor injury as opposed to a serious illness — and in only SIX DAYS of light crutch usage (walking in a partial weight-bearing way, mind you) — all my leg muscles atrophied like crazy. Even walking two blocks was exhausting. It all came back with dedicated work…with some dedicated rest mixed in. To everything there is a season. 🙂

    • susiemorrow says:

      Thats scary how quickly your muscles atrophied Eve! But I can well relate to it – I daren’t reveal my horrible wizened 90 year olds legs. Ive got bad hips today with the gym work, but I’m going back tomorrow anyway as its one of those things where you have to really make yourself do it.

  • Maryann Parker says:

    Ah Susie, I can really relate to how you feel. It seems if I don’t exercise I get weaker fast and if I do exercise too much I get inflamed and can’t do much. Such a delicate balance! I find swimming is my friend. I also like a little bike riding and walking. I do a little 10 minute qigong routine almost every day (helps with the morning acheyness and stiffness) but machines and weight lifting you can have them, I just can’t enjoy or be consistent with them. Rest is important too. Delicate balance indeed
    Hug
    Maruska

    • susiemorrow says:

      Yes thats about the jist of it Maruska, damned if you do, damned if you don’t. I had a really bad swelling in my leg because of overdoing it (overdoing it being used in the loosest sense of the word of course) and I was off my feet for 10 days and then of course I was back to square one and weak as a baby. Like you said , it’s a delicate balance we have to strike. ARGGGGG. NOw don’t laugh, but I can’t swim or ride a bike, I know, pathetic, I blame my parents of course LOL! I can walk though…just 😉 xxx hugs back at ya xxx

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Road to recovery, part 2: The long and winding road at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

