Mmmmm Gluten Free Banana Muffins

October 9, 2012 § 5 Comments

mmmm gluten free delights

As you know I am trying to stick to a gluten free and autoimmune boosting diet. But sometimes, you just crave something sweet. So today I made some gluten free banana muffins and I want to share their banana goodness with you.

Here’s the recipe (not mine, I got it elsewhere, but can’t remember where now). One thing, because we are all weak runts of the litter and have hardly any arm muscle left, we are allowed to use a food processor without guilt. I love mine, I couldn’t bake without it.

I try to use fair trade and organic where I can, but of course, you don’t have to.

Ingredients:

110 g unsalted organic butter

110g organic fair-trade caster sugar (alternatively, you can use a natural sweetener like Stevia if you want to reduce the carbs)

2 free range eggs

1 tsp vanilla essence

3 ripe fair-trade organic bananas

1 tsp baking powder

175g Rice flour

50g corn flour

75g sultanas or raisons

Making them

Using that all important electric food processor:

Add the sugar and butter and whisk them together till fluffy.

Then add the eggs and vanilla essence.

Keep whisking till mixed.

(I always have to stop at this point and make sure all the bits are pulled into the middle to ensure even mixing)

Squish the bananas one by one into the mix, mixing as you go. It feels quite nice, but it’s a bit messy.

Then measure out the rice powder, baking powder and corn flour and sieve this into the mix slowly folding it in.

Finally add the sultanas and fold them in, then spoon the mix into little bun or muffin cases.

Now I put mine in an AGA, which is already at temperature, for about 20 minutes. But, if you have an ordinary oven I’d try it at about 200C.

Let them cool before eating. Well you don’t have to…

Then turn around and look at the  awful mess you’ve just made in the kitchen.

They are really nice, delicious in fact. I wouldn’t eat too many at once because they do have sugar in, but at least they’re gluten free which according to the US based Myositis organisation is a good diet to follow – there’s some good advise on Myositis and nutrition here.

In the end I only ate two, as I realised I do like the odd sweetie but I think I actually prefer savoury.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Mmmmm Gluten Free Banana Muffins

  • Sounds yummy!! Being American, I just need translation on a couple of things.
    First, what is ‘fair trade’? Is that a brand name or a type of food?
    I know ‘caster sugar’ from watching Master Chef Australia. It’s a finely granulated white sugar, right?
    And finally, what is an AGA?

    I’m so glad you are up for baking!! But don’t overdo it! ♥♥♥

    • susiemorrow says:

      Oh again some of the lost in translation stuff I always forget. Well…
      Fair trade means that the product producers are getting a fair deal from the buyers – the producers usually being third world farmers: http://www.fairtrade.org.uk/
      And you’re right, caster sugar is finely ground

      Oh and an AGA is THE best oven in the world! I love mine, once you’ve tried one, normal ovens can’t compete – its kind of like a country oven: http://www.agaliving.com/

  • Oh yes, I WANT an AGA!!!!! haha! I have never heard of buying fair trade products. Maybe it’s here and I just don’t know about it.
    Thanks for the translation!!! ♥

    • susiemorrow says:

      They are cool Kim. They must have fair trade equivalent in the US.
      Sorry Ive not been on MSN tonight, Ive been asleep and then feel really yucky (its my prednisolone taper day and I’m taking it bad) xxx

  • Don’t worry about not being on msn!! I haven’t been on today either. I’m cleaning the house! I know that sounds strange and foreign – me cleaning. LOL
    You take it easy today and feel better!!!! xxx

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mmmmm Gluten Free Banana Muffins at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

