My new whacking stick, oops I mean walking stick

September 29, 2012 § 2 Comments

Well I mulled and mulled over the idea of a walking stick.

Friends and family kept going on saying I should get one. But I kept resisting because it just seemed so final, so accepting of the disease’s badness. In the end, I was at a small family gathering and my sister in law’s, mother, had a rather dapper one with her, so I ‘had a go’ and actually it was pretty good. It was like something to lean on when you’re tired: Not a bad thing at all. In fact, I felt kind of cool, like a female version of Steed from the Avengers (although he used a brolly rather the a stick).

So, I bit the bullet and got one. It’s very cool, it has silver spiral galaxies on it.

I’m going to use it and not be embarrassed, or feel ‘old’. I’ll not use it all the time, just when I really need a bit of support.

Also, it has a useful, dual use. I can use it to whack Steve with when I need a glass of water, or a slice of toast, etc.

“whackkkkk! Steve I need a drink”

“whackkkk! Steve get me a slice of toast”

So it is a very useful thing indeed.

Oh and I’ve also found it’s good for poking the dog when she makes a smell, so she moves away from within my nose range.

My whacking stick (me looking a bit grumpy and fat of face (more about steroid ‘moon face’ fun in another post):

Me and my whacking stick, ready for action

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My new whacking stick, oops I mean walking stick

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading My new whacking stick, oops I mean walking stick at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

