A Simple Meal: Thank You Mr or Mrs Salmon

September 24, 2012 § 10 Comments

As I said in a previous post, I’m following a diet that will hopefully boost my immune system and help me fight dermatomyo – shite -is (AKA dermatomyositis).

The problems with following this diet, whilst suffering from this illness, includes the fact that sometimes you literally do not have the energy or strength to cook. My leg hurts often and I am very tired a lot of the time, so sometimes it’s hard to stand for extended periods to cook – and trust me, getting Steve (bless his cottons) to cook for me, is NOT a good idea…

So I rely on easy meals and often ready made meals. When I say ready made meals, I’m here talking about very high quality ones that tend to cost a lot. Therein lies another problem with following a good autoimmune diet whilst very ill – it’s expensive.

However, here’s a simple meal I made, as an example of what I try to eat (I must admit that sometimes you just have to have a plate of gluten free fish fingers and chips).

Take your salmon fillet and add a butter slice and some herbs of your choice – no salt!

Salmon ready for cooking

Wrap it in foil and cook in an oven for about 20 minutes. You could pan sear it, but it makes a right mess in the pan and remember we’re trying to reduce time standing.

Thank you Mr or Mrs Salmon, I really appreciate it

Then use a good quality stir fry mix, or salad, to finish off your meal:

Stir fry in the pan

I use olive oil to fry with, it’s apparently good for handling cholesterol and has all sorts of positive benefits, including preventing colon cancer and reducing blood pressure (things that we DM’ers are at an increased risk of).

When finished, stick ’em both on a plate and eat heartily (unless you have post methotrexate nausea in which case, just try to eat a little bit).

Yum, yum, yum, food for my tum

A simple meal, but by no means cheap. Maybe you know of a good, easy to prepare and cheaper meal?

Thank you Mr or Mrs Salmon, I really appreciate it

UPDATE: An excellent presentation by the USA Myositis Association, on diet can be seen here: http://www.myositis.org/storage/documents/2012_AC_Presentations/TMA-_lantner.pdf

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to A Simple Meal: Thank You Mr or Mrs Salmon

  • Eve Maler says:

    Looks delicious and easy to prepare! Can you get canned (tinned) salmon there? A bit cheaper and, of course, ridiculously easy.

    • susiemorrow says:

      You can, get it in a can, boom, boom, actually that’d be nice mixed in as a stir fry?? Mmmmmmmmm

      What I also LOVE is tuna and mayonnaise…BTW comment readers, Eve introduced me to the wonders of the low carb/paleolithic diet, check out her blog

  • The salmon sounds yummy! April makes teriyaki salmon in a pan, with bottled teriyaki sauce. In a nonstick pan, saute in butter for only 3-4 minutes on each side. Salmon should be pink in the middle. Remove the fish to the plate, heat up a little of the sauce in the hot pan and pour it over. She makes rice with it, but I think they make rice in a bag that goes in the microwave so you wouldn’t have to bother about it too much.

    When my back is bad I use a wheeled office chair in the kitchen. Makes it so much easier to do those things that require a little more time.

  • wartica says:

    I have salmon twice a week , with a splash of garlic and onion to go on top:)

  • pansurvivor says:

    I buy the frozen salmon filets at Walmart in the frozen fish section. Four filets in a package cost about 5 bucks here. I just stick them under the broiler with butter and garlic powder with a fresh salad and cottage cheese. Simple meal for me. Hubby on the other hand hates fish so he gets burgers. I prefer fish over meat and have actual cravings for it. Must be the Imuran depleting my whatever supply.

  • Janet says:

    Thanks for link about diet. I am recently diagnosed well nearly, with d m and wondering if there is anything i can do myself to help treat it, as its early days with pred and tryingto learn all i can. Sacred stiff too.

    • susiemorrow says:

      Janet, Im so sorry to hear you’ve got DM. Try not to worry because it is manageable. Have they mentioned yet about factoring in another drug like methotrexate as a steroid sparing drug? It takes a while for the treatment to work and progress will seem slow, but you will start to get better, you really will. I have been on prednisolone since June and methotrexate since July and really started to feel more like myself around November, but still not quite there, but I am getting there and you will too. If you’re on Facebook theres an excellent support group here: http://www.facebook.com/groups/118333201479/
      Diet does seem to help me, just to keep things in control, hence being on a gluten free diet and having good quality protein everyday, to counter the muscle damage. Keep i touch, support from others who understand has really helped me get through the last 6 months. xxx

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Simple Meal: Thank You Mr or Mrs Salmon at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

