Help Please . . . .

September 17, 2012 § 4 Comments

Has anyone got any tips/tricks/remedies for this awful, awful taste I have in my mouth ????????  It is driving me crazy.  I just had a lemonade icy pole (icy stick) thinking it might help but I swear it has made it worse.  There is no fun being hungry when everything tastes so sour and awful.  It feels like the chemo is just literally eking out of me – I smell it and taste it in everything.   Am I just imagining it?????    Also, tried lollies but even they are not working !!!!

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Help Please . . . .

  • Perhaps not very helpful, but I found the bad taste has got less with each treatment. I first noticed it after we’d been on a steam train – my mouth and nose felt coated with smoky steam! I washed my hair and cleaned my teeth, but the taste stayed.
    I’ve been lucky that it hasn’t over-ridden the taste of what I eat.

    Someone recommended a mouthwash, Peroxyl by Colgate. I can’t vouch for it as I didn’t need to try it, but it may work for you.

    The thing I AM suffering from is a bloomin’ itchy head! Any recommendations?!!

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Victoria – I so wish I could suggest something. At the workshop I went to today some of the ladies talked about using lovely light massage oils. I havent tried them but my head also gets itching so might give ti a try too. Oh – another suggestion was baby soap/lotion. See how you go.

  • pansurvivor says:

    Cinnamon drops maybe? When I did chemo with prednisone for my vasculitis, my mouth tasted like metal and I felt like the meds were seeping from my pores and couldn’t stand the smell of myself. Sometimes I took showers a day. I used cortisone cream on my itchy bald spots on my head, sometimes popped a benadryl. That seemed to help. I would wake up scratching my head almost raw. Good luck!

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Thanks for this – I’ll give them a try. Another friend suggested using lemon peel – apparently it absorbs the ‘metal’. My head is also incredibly itchy – I got some baby oil and am now using that on it. Like you I am also having multiple showers a day – I agree is feels and smells like the chem is coming out of my pores. Having these illnesses really sucks!!!!

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Help Please . . . . at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

