Chemo Update . . . And Banking the Compliments

September 13, 2012 § 4 Comments

Well I have to be honest and say that I am feeling remarkably well post my second dose of chemo earlier in the week.  I might well have lost my hair  (picture still coming) but the anti-nausea drugs have really worked.  Not sure if it is just luck but I haven’t suffered from any sicky feelings at all.  I hope this signals clear sailing for the course of treatment – but i can’t imagine I could be that lucky after hearing the horror stories of others.  While not paid work, I have been able to do a lot of committee work for the various panels/committees/boards I am on which has also helped to give me both a focus and helps to keep my ‘hand in’.

It was my birthday yesterday and I have to say I was humbled by the attention and well wishes of all my friends, family and extended family.  What touched me most was not just the birthday greetings but the wonderful, humbling compliments made by people and the support offered.  While at one level I felt quite embarrassed on another I was reminded about how important it is to ‘receive’ and accept this sort of positive acknowledgement – indeed how important it is to ‘bank’ it for those times when you are struggling to find anything positive about yourself.  So in the bank it has all gone – and I feel the better for it.  I have no doubt i will be wanting to make a withdrawal sometime in the near future !!!!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Chemo Update . . . And Banking the Compliments

  • Argi says:

    Hi Suz, so happy to read your comments above. I love your analogy of “banking it” but I know that even if you make a withdrawal, you will have plenty of deposits to come. You will never have a “nil” balance, my friend.
    love
    Argi

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Hi Argi – thanks for this. I hope you feel the same – that is, that you will never have a nil balance. I think you are right – that is the attitude to have.

  • jillinois says:

    I lucked out with the nausea stuff, also. Only puked once during induction and never again in the 19 months I had of near non-stop chemo. I took the meds, though. The queasiness was there- but the meds helped. I’m glad you’re not feeling too sick 🙂

  • pansurvivor says:

    Well, happy belated birthday! I have done chemo orally and iv 3 times and was only slightly nauseated. My biggest problem was that things tasted “funny”, not the same. I actually was turned off by the taste of chocolate, this coming from a known chocoholic. Keep up the great attitude!

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chemo Update . . . And Banking the Compliments at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

