The Marshmallow’s Revenge…Scooby, Dooby Doo, Where Are You!

September 12, 2012 § 16 Comments

Scooby Dooby Doo..Where Are You?!

The swellings in my neck and throat area, aka the marshmallows, have exacted their revenge and put me in hospital: Thanks for that, light, fluffy, glucose laden sweet , masquerading as some weird anatomical anomaly.

I have to admit to feeling extremely sorry for myself at this moment in time.

I am sitting in a hospital in Newcastle upon Tyne, the RVI. It’s a very nice hospital, with lovely staff, but it’s not home.

Me looking particularly fed up in hospital – let me out!

Before this whole dermatomyo-shite-is episode I had very little experience of hospitals  – they were for those sad, sorry ill people. You know, those people with ‘health problems’ of which I wasn’t one. Since dermatomyositis took over my life, hospitals are part of my rich circle of experience. The smell of them is faintly reassuring. Walking down the corridor feels comfortable. I instantly took to my bed, on which I am now typing this post and settled in.

But it’s still not home. I want to be in my own bed, with my stuff around me.

But at least I am being checked out and looked after. The NHS at its best. I came into the ward and within an hour I’d had a CT scan and thorough body exam by two neurologists. The CT scan results have not been very helpful and I have to now have an ultrasound. But it doesn’t look like lymph nodes, which is good, as I was worried about non Hodgkins which has an association with dermatomyositis (be something if I ended up with the same illness as Suz wouldn’t it).

So now I wait for Ear, Nose and Throat to check me out to see if they have any ideas what the lumps are. I’m a medical mystery. I wish I wasn’t.

Oh and I HATE canullas, hate them, loath them. And I have to keep this one in overnight, arggggggg.

Here it is, if I have to suffer it, you may as well see it, in all its bloody glory (or is that gory):

Me and my canulla

I’ll update you on the marshmallow mystery once I know what’s going on. If only Scooby Doo was here.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to The Marshmallow’s Revenge…Scooby, Dooby Doo, Where Are You!

  • jillinois says:

    Geez, did Godzilla put in that IV (canula)? Could have done a bit of housekeeping before leaving the bloody gauze there. (nothing like giving nursing critique from thousands of miles away- LOL). And flush the blood out of the ends… 😮 Ok, I’ll be nice now 🙂

    I’m glad that nothing glaring was going on w/the CT scan. That’s good. I’m glad you’re getting it all checked out…. don’t want the marshmallow to morph into one of those Easter hot pink bunny marshmallows (do you have Peeps in the UK?

    • susiemorrow says:

      Its awful isn’t it, other nurses commented on the blood too. Weirdly, the blood sort of got sucked back up – well it disappeared…best I don’t think about that bit too much…Whats Peeps?

      • jillinois says:

        Peeps are these sugar covered marshmallow candies that originally got started for Easter (and shaped like chicks, so ‘peeps’). They are usually obnoxious neon colors. Hot pink is a popular one. They now do them for nearly all holidays. I never liked them. My mom (RIP) thought they were great. A friend of mine would leave them on the counter, out of the package, overnight, and then whack the heck out of them so they’d break up… Nothing like a hard marshmallow covered in hot pink sugar- LOL 😀

      • susiemorrow says:

        I have to say they sound utterly yack. My marshmallows are yack too of course. Who invented such a thing – are they meant for children?

  • Kim says:

    Peeps are little chicks and bunnies made of marshmallows and covered with colored sugars in pastel colors. Some people (like my sister and my daughter) love to leave them out unwrapped until they dry out and then they are super chewy. Not my ‘cup of tea’. lol

    • susiemorrow says:

      Im not sure if they sound nice or not, they sound sweet!! SO good news, sort of, the marshmallows are caused oct definitely by the steroids. Man thing is they aren’t life threatening and I’m seeing docs in a minute to discuss what we can do about the swallowing issues, but I’m happy its just that. xx

  • xmlgrrl says:

    Oh dear, hope your marshmallows resolve quickly! Peeps are an awesome/disgusting candy treat. Here are some other things you can do with them besides eat them: http://www.fanpop.com/spots/marshmallow-peeps/images/5760457/title/1st-annual-peeps-show-biddle-gallery-fanart

    • susiemorrow says:

      That kink is bizarre Eve – American sneer cease to amaze me in their quirky ingenuity. Looks like the marshmallows are caused by the steroids, although there was vehement denial by half the doctors that it wasn’t as they’d never seen it like this before, but the ones with the scanners have won i think. About to see another lot now and hopefully they’ll let me be free!! Not sure what will happen to resolve the swallowing thing, but i reckon i can live with it as long as it doesn’t get any worse xx

  • Susie Morrow, you’ve never experienced a peep before?? They are disgustingly sweet!
    I’m hope you’ll be free soon and I’m very glad it’s nothing life threatening. ❤

    • susiemorrow says:

      I never have and I suspect I never will (thank god!) they sound awful! Im spending another night in hospital,sigh. Speech therapist tomorrow to see whats going on with my vocal cords and swallowing. The NHS is nothing if not thorough.But he canulla is out – mind you i bleed so much that people almost fainted around me, my god, it was like a bloodbath!

  • I almost fainted just from reading that! ❤ to you!!

  • jillinois says:

    The Peep pole dancers are a hoot !! Yeah, Susie, they’re pretty nasty. But my mom loved them, so I’d send her tons of them the day after a holiday when they were half-price. My dad hated that; mom was demented by then, and all day long she’d ask for Peeps, which meant dad had to go find them and bring her one.

    I’m glad you didn’t need a transfusion after the IV ! 🙂

    • susiemorrow says:

      LOL I can just imagine her asking for them 🙂 How lovely he did that though.

      Jill honestly i thought i might have fainted there was so much of the red stuff – I’m now worried that vampires will have smelt it and be hovering outside he hospital window waiting for their chance tonight when I’m asleep.

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Marshmallow’s Revenge…Scooby, Dooby Doo, Where Are You! at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

