I Don’t Care About Losing My Hair – Well Maybe I Do A Bit . . . .

September 11, 2012 § 4 Comments

Well it has finally happened – the hair is now gone.  It started to fall out in clumps on Sunday  – the day before Chemo no. 2.  It was a bit distressing so yesterday after the treatment I just got it all shaved off.  At least now I am not thinking about it – it is just done.  I have a selection of nice caps and hats to wear so that is all OK.  And while I said all along losing my hair was no big deal – it did feel odd letting it all go.  It was sort of proof that I do actually have cancer and that the treatment is pretty rough.  It represents a new milestone in my realisation and acceptance of what I have.  And I do feel a little embarrassed about seeing people for the first time – it will just take some time to get used to.  I am a pretty proud person so my usual response is not to let people know if there are any issues – with a shaved head and cap, it don’t leave much room for guessing !!!   There have been so many other things happening in my life over the last 12 months that when the cancer came along I found it easy to deal with because I had a lot of other challenges to manage.  But yesterday it sort of struck home.  Mind you, my sister tells me (and others imply) I am the healthiest cancer patient they have seen.  I hope it continues that way.  I got a bit of a talking to by the community nurse today making sure I am not pushing myself too much and not brushing off things as insignificant – tiredness etc.  I don’t think I am.  I think I am doing OK.   Tonight for some odd reason the lymph glands in my neck are sore and one of them is swollen. I presume it is from the chemo – i’ll see how they are tomorrow before I worry.  I know I have so many drugs in my system that anything is possible.

One thing I meant to say about my hair/head – is that I didn’t realise what a small head I have.  It looks like a little ball on my shoulders – I love that hats but because my head is small a couple of them are just about falling over my eyes.  I guess that means they will fit when my hair grows back !!!!

UP DATED PHOTO ON THE WAY . . . . .. .

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to I Don’t Care About Losing My Hair – Well Maybe I Do A Bit . . . .

  • Bel says:

    Suz I think Don has gone out in sympathy because he shaved his head recently too. Is there something the two of you want to tell me?!?! You know Jackie’s mum had non-hodgkins too and is through it all now and has her full head of hair back. I saw her on Sunday for Hayley’s first communion and she looks fantastic. You are one step closer to being through it all too, and having that head of hair back. Love you lots xxx

  • I love having no hair. I’ve come to realise that waking up with the same mothy old bob I’ve had for years was really pretty boring, and it’s much more fun having completely different styles with mad head wraps and big earrings! Plus the bathroom doesn’t get messed up with stray hair. A win win situation!

  • jillinois says:

    Chemo-Hairapy !!! I’m getting ready to get my head shaved for a minor surgery for some cysts on my head (repeated crop issue- LOL). I’ve done it before, and love the coolness (I get overheated way too easily, and wear an ice vest to leave home). I’ve told my dad that I’m probably going to be bald from here on out if it makes my life easier.

    I remember my first trip to the store after my ANC was up enough to wing it. Some snarky old ladies sneered at me. I can’t repeat what I thought of them. A really nice kid who bagged the groceries just came out with it and asked “What kind do you have?”. Seems he was recovering from bone cancer, and doing well- his honesty was refreshing. I still see him at the store now and then. He was the first stranger to be accepting. I lost my hair twice, and it grew back very different each time, but is now pretty much how it all was normally.

    I hope that you continue to feel well, but do allow yourself to rest 🙂

  • pansurvivor says:

    Your hair will most likely come back in perm curly. Mine did and I loved it. I don’t have cancer, I have autoimmune disease and it’s treated with chemo as well.

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Don’t Care About Losing My Hair – Well Maybe I Do A Bit . . . . at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

