Tara THANKYOU! For making laughter the best medicine

August 28, 2012 § 17 Comments

 

Today, I awoke to find a large, soft, round swelling, just above my clavicle. It scared the bejesus out of me, I can tell you. I just thought, oh no, dear god what is this now.

Anyway, I was quite upset and down about it. I made an appointment to see a doctor this afternoon to get it checked out. Just to make sure I was suitably stressed and worried, I did some internet research, looking for possible connections between the drugs I’m on (methotrexate and prednisolone) and swellings in that area. All I found was that is was either, an infection, hypothyroidism, or a tumour: I opted for the infection as my problem of choice.

Anyway, suitably worried I went to the doctors and waited in the very quiet, British waiting room.

A bit of background… Brits are, by nature, a quiet and conservative lot (in public anyway, I can’t vouch for that behind closed doors): Laughing out loud in public places is considered treason and punishable by death – her majesty herself carrying out the beheading*.

Anyway, there I was worried frown lines on my brow and I texted my good friend Tara to describe what I had and for some tea and sympathy.

A total deadpan text was then received by me, from Tara saying:

“Is it possible it’s a marshmallow?”

 

I tell you, I nearly wet myself laughing and trying to hold the laughter in, as a million sitcom type scenarios played in my mind of me asking the Doctor:

“Doctor, is it possible it’s a marshmallow?”

I’m still laughing now.

I admit, some of you might not get this as it seems a very British joke, as it’s a bit of a surreal situation. But the combination of the stress of this new symptom, with the deathly silence of the waiting room and peoples glum faces and receiving that text was just what the doctor ordered and it cheered me up no end.

So to Tara, for being bloody funny at exactly the right moment – thankyou!

p.s. Tara and her husband have written a brilliant book for new parents called Commando Dad, check it out.

p.p.s. Its likely not a marshmallow, although they are thinking of carrying out a toast test. It is most likely a side effect of the prednisolone, but the GP is talking to my consultant about it tomorrow, so I’ll update you when I know more.

* This is a joke by the way, we stopped beheading people years ago – well, mostly..

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to Tara THANKYOU! For making laughter the best medicine

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tara THANKYOU! For making laughter the best medicine at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

