After all that I am still scared of the dentist

December 10, 2012 § 6 Comments

tooth

I’ve been putting off going to the dentist for ages. Well, I have had a good excuse, but I really had to bite the bullet (pun intended) and just go, as I’ve had a bit of tooth ache.

You’d think, after having gone through all those horrible invasive tests when I was diagnosed with dermatomyositis; Crying like a baby after the horrible muscle biopsy, having all my bits prodded and poked and various metal things inserted in various places, you’d think the dentist would hold no fear for me.

Well think again.

I hate going to the dentist, even though my actual dentist is lovely beyond duty and kind and sweet and caring.

I first met my lovely current dentist, after a particularly horrific experience at the dental hospital with an impacted wisdom tooth, she righted the wrongs, lets just leave it at that. Anyone reading this, who has had the misfortune to have an impacted wisdom tooth, will know that this is no laughing matter (more mouth references, I can’t help myself). In this case, not only was it impacted, but it was also infected. I can’t quite remember how I ended up at the dental hospital, but I had at one point, two students and their lecturer trying to saw their way into the tooth, hidden by some pesky bone which just wouldn’t budge (yes, it was like something from a horror film). Oh and I forgot to mention, the anaesthetic wouldn’t take, after many attempts and so this was pretty much done with no pain relief. At one point the dentist was virtually standing on top of me trying to extract that tooth. Dear god, it was horrific, yes worse than the muscle biopsy, maybe worse than childbirth, Im undecided on that, certainly up there with childbirth.  I ended up sans wisdom tooth (some may argue, sans wisdom too) and I couldn’t eat solids for a week because my mouth was so swollen – there is an analogy there with childbirth and something else swollen and painful, but I’ll leave that to your imagination.

The above horror tale, may well be behind the whole fear of dentists thing. By the way, I also only have one child…

So any excuse not to go, is used and having been pretty ill for a long while now, has played nicely into my excuse list.

But I went today and now I have to have a old filling removed and replaced as it’s got decay starting around it, BOO HOO me! Not fair, I’ve had enough this year of being poked and prodded. Santa, why me, give me a break you rotten sod!

I know that it will be pretty painless and fine, but I still feel nervous about it. If you asked me if I wanted a muscle biopsy, or a filling removed and replaced, I’d choose the latter in a heartbeat that’s for sure. So bring it on dentist, I’m ready for a drilling.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to After all that I am still scared of the dentist

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Geez, that wisdom tooth thing sounds horrible :o I don’t like going to the dentist either- no bad experiences at all- just YEARS of orthodontics and figure I’ve done my time with people groping at my teeth. :/

    • susiemorrow says:

      It was pretty bad Jill! As you know us Brits don’t look after our teeth as well as you North Americans – or is that a myth, I’m not sure, but i do know that an awful lot of people I know don’t go to the dentist much.

      • JillinoisRN says:

        The sale of tooth whiteners, and whitening procedures, new veneers on teeth, straightening teeth, etc are huge businesses here. We’ve got toothbrushes that are motorized, along with the ‘regular’ ones- and they even come in superhero models for kids- LOL. I can’t go a day watching TV without MANY advertisements for whitening products. There are entire aisles in the supermarket just for teeth stuff… toothpaste (including ‘kid’ flavored sorts), brushes, motorized toothbrushes, dental floss and picks, etc. It’s crazy ! We’re ‘supposed’ to go to the dentist every 6 months. I don’t have dental insurance, so I just went a few months ago (dad paid); fortunately, no cavities in 10 years ! :)

      • susiemorrow says:

        10 years without cavities is pretty good Jill! Well my teeth are OK but they’re most definitely off white…:-)

      • susiemorrow says:

        10 years without cavities is pretty good Jill! Well my teeth are OK but they’re most definitely off white…:-)

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Mine are off white, too. :)

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading After all that I am still scared of the dentist at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

