The Gammy Leg Returns

December 5, 2012 § 11 Comments

Sky Apple Cafe

The thing about dermatomyositis is that is can permanently damage muscles and that’s something I’ve been hoping wouldn’t happen to me. If you’ve been reading this blog, you’ll know I’ve got a ‘gammy’ leg – ‘gammy’ translating to a lot of pain in my left leg and associated swelling, when I do a bit too much exercise (by too much, we’re talking here of minute amounts of exercise, not climbing a mountain or anything).

So the other day I went out for a lovely lunch with my daughter, Elaine. We went to a suburb of Newcastle upon Tyne called Heaton, where there’s a few nice vegetarian and generally bohemian type cafes, over a fairly short distance.

In the first cafe we went to, called Sky Apple Cafe, we had a very delicious all day  vegetarian Big Breakfast. It was such a lovely bright, crisp, blue sky, winter day that we decided that we would walk to another cafe, Heaton Perk, for cake and decaff coffee, the walk being about half a mile.

Now recently I’ve been building up my strength and stamina and I’ve been able to walk about half a mile (with a couple of rest stops) so, I was fairly confident getting to the the cafe for my cake. So, off we went, on the cold, crisp, bright day and made it, slowly, to Heaton Perk. Once ensconced, we talked about life and books and politics and how much I miss travelling. We ate gluten free lemon drizzle cake and drank steaming decaffeinated coffee and decided that life doesn’t get much better than this: Little pockets of happiness and cake.

Then we walked the half mile back to the car and off we went.

Doesn’t sound like much exercise does it. Well today my leg is swollen and very sore again. When I walk my knee buckles under me and the joint is very painful as well as the muscles around it. It’s so frustrating, not being able to even do a little walk without this happening. How on earth can I get back to where I was at this rate. However, I am utterly grateful Im not in a wheelchair like a lot of people with this disease.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to The Gammy Leg Returns

  • I don’t know much about dermatomyositis but am learning from your blog. That must be a nightmare to deal with. All I can say is well done on managing your walk, you did amazingly, and best wishes to you as always x

    • susiemorrow says:

      Thanks so much for your thoughts. Its nice to wake up to kind thoughts when you’ve had a horrible night. xx

      I prefer to call it dermatomyo-shite-is. The leg thing is pretty bad today. I don’t want to over play it because at least I’m not in a wheelchair (yet) but it really is painful and the swelling scares me a lot. Its still bad today – i’ll have to stay off it until at least next week :-(

  • Hi Sus , been awhile since I put anything on your blog , sorry to read that you having a few set backs , take heart Sus we are all thinking & wishing you well , it’s not a good journey to be on , but you have such amazing courage & strenght I know that you will get through these not so good days thinking of you Sus love Bev xx

    • susiemorrow says:

      Bev, thanks so much for saying that, it so helps to have people care, especially when you just feel like crying.

      At the minute I feel neither courageous or strong, as my leg is really bad and it scares me a lot, I’m frightened ill always have this problem and its suffered permanent muscle damage. I really hate that I got this.

      One thing though, your wonderful daughter, Suz, has helped get me through many of my bad days, even with her own horrible condition to deal with, you created a truly wonderful human being.

  • JillinoisRN says:

    WOW, a half a mile is huge ! The strength you’ve built up will help the soreness go away more quickly. I’m so proud of you that you’ve done so much to build up to the half mile :) I kind of understand what you mean about the ‘extra’ walking having such an effect- dad had surgery last Friday, and his room was halfway to hell and back in that hospital. I made it 2 days walking around, and by Sunday, I was shot- leg felt like I had hot coals sitting on them (mostly right). But, by resting it for that day, it did much better….. we gotta do what we gotta do :)

    I’m glad you had a nice time with your daughter …. what’s in a vegetarian Big Breakfast? When I was in the UK as a teenager, I remember the London hotel serving eggs, sausages (kill those with the vegetarian version, I suppose), tomato slices and baked beans (neither of which I’ve ever cared for- I’m lousy at a picnic)…. I’d head over to Harrods for candy :D

    • susiemorrow says:

      Harrods for candy! wow thats posh! Its an amazing shop though isn’t it. Its taken me a while to get to that half mile stop, about 6 months and I don’t want to loose it. Ive stayed off my feet all week and done no exercise (which makes me worry of course too) – its still swollen but slowly its going down and I can walk with my stick.

      Hows your dad now btw? Hope yuore feeling ok too, its hard Jill, looking after others when really your the one needing looking after xxx

      Oh and a vegetarian breakfast is just like a meat one really, scrambled eggs, toast, fried mushrooms, fried tomatoes and vegetarian sausages, mmmm i want it now!!

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Dad’s doing well :) He’s already been to 2 parties, out to dinner twice, and out and about at various estate sales, looking for more ‘treasures’. He doesn’t know how to sit still.

    The veggie breakfast sounds pretty good ! Harrod’s was definitely a treat- I was 13 years old, and our hotel was down the street. I’ve been a ‘foodie’ for a long time and loved looking at everything there :) But that was about all I could afford- candy :D

    I hope the swelling goes down so you can get back to walking- it is scary to do so much work, only to be put on the sidelines with a setback. :/

    • susiemorrow says:

      Blooming ‘eck! He’s got a lot more stamina than i have! Wish I had that social life, well maybe in year or so, I couldn’t cope at present.

      Harrods food hall is something else – I know their ‘candy’ (we call them sweets) stand well.

      The swelling is going down, but I went to the pictures last night to see a film and bought the posh seats, but I’ve been suffering with hip pain all day, c’est la vie :-) xxx

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Yeah, dad is something else… he’s 80 years old, and is ‘booked’ most nights of the week with some sort of social activity. He can do laps at the mall (and it’s a good sized one). He was a high school principal so knows a lot of people- and stops to talk a LOT !! :D

    Bummer about more pain :( I hope the film was good- you guys got ‘Les Mis’ before we do (not until Christmas day here). I am amazed at Anne Hathaway’s voice from the previews on TV (the ‘telly’ :) ).

    • susiemorrow says:

      How fantastic for your dad, there are so many lonely older peopel on the planet and it frightens and saddens me, but seeing someone like your dad gives me hope. The age demographics of the western world are changing to skew so much towards older people that we need to meake sure we all have a fuller life in older age (if we can that is!)

      I didnt know anything about ‘les mis’ at all?! The film i saw was called 7 pshychopaths, it was very Tarantinoeqsue and very good but a bit violent…

      • JillinoisRN says:

        Les Miserables opened in London last week. I’ve heard of the musical for years, but never really looked into it- I can’t wait until the movie comes out on DVD ! I already pre-ordered the CD/soundtrack.

        Yeah, dad is very fortunate. He didn’t even own a bottle of Tylenol before all of this !

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Gammy Leg Returns at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

