Finally! A Cure for the Common Cold?!

December 1, 2012 § 16 Comments

sus1So, here I am, drugged up to he eyeballs on immuno-supressant drugs (AKA prednisolone and methotrexate) and I get a cold.

Immediately I am panicked: Visions of it turning into pneumonia and me spending Christmas in hospital.

I slept for around 20 hours on day 1. Day 2 I slept for about 12 hours. Day 3 I’m better.

What on earth!

My partner, who kindly gave me the cold in the first place, is still, nearly two weeks later, coughing and spluttering with the thing. And yet, here I am, no cold, having fought it off, god knows how, because my blood tests (which I have to get regularly while on methotrexate)  show, for example, my leucocytes (which fight off disease) are low.

So there you go, a cure for the common cold, immuno-suppresants..

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Finally! A Cure for the Common Cold?!

  • Lol have you had flu jab and pneumonia jab? I have :) I must say I don’t get that many colds either at all and my white blood cells are practically non-existant cos of the azathioprine! Weird!

  • JillinoisRN says:

    My chronic headaches were much better when I was on arsenic- usually used for subtle and slow first degree murder- LOL :D Medication effects are very odd !! :)

    • susiemorrow says:

      I daren’t ask…what were you taking arsenic for?!!

      • JillinoisRN says:

        The leukemia :) It’s one of two things for acute promyelocytic leukemia…. makes the chromosomes switch back to how they’re supposed to be (# 15 and 17 traded arms…). LOL. nothing like getting something seen on forensic shows in order to LIVE !!

      • susiemorrow says:

        THats amazing?! I wonder what the mechanism for that is? THe things we do to buck death – arsenic?!!

      • JillinoisRN says:

        It actually works on a chromosome level !! The doc I had said one guy thought he was trying to kill him with arsenic and called the cops- doc had to go up to the hospital and explain the situation :D

      • susiemorrow says:

        Ha! REally!! Thats funny :-) Im interested in the biochemistry of medicine – just not the medicine (if you know what I mean) Id love to see the mechanics of the action, i might try and find it online.

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Yeah, I never got to that part of how it worked- but it’s amazing. The Chinese have been using arsenic for a LONG time. Now it’s a relatively mainstream treatment for APL. Before that and ATRA (basically jacked up Vitamin A), the lifespan for someone with this type of leukemia (APL, or AML- subtype M3) was (and still is if untreated) one month.

  • JillinoisRN says:

    That’s kind of the sad part about people not getting it caught in time – it’s %90 curable when treated aggressively as quickly as possible… but many people are DIAGNOSED at autopsy :( There are no ‘classic’ symptoms that scream ‘I’m dying’….usually a brief, but rapidly critical illness, and either a brain bleed or massive infection that causes death.

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finally! A Cure for the Common Cold?! at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

