To the Real Celebrities

November 17, 2012 § 5 Comments

Yesterday I went to this fund raising lunch to support research into depression.  The guest speaker was a relatively prominent member of a national football code.  His talk was interesting, a good speaker and personable enough but to be honest the content was pretty shallow. While  I have no doubt he suffered from a depressive episode his recovery sounded as simple as waking up one day, deciding not to be depressed, going for a jog around the block, changing his diet and getting back on track with his professional football career.  Thankfully for him, he only had to see a psychologist  4 or 5 times and he didn’t require any medication.    Of course the audience ( most of it) found his talk ‘inspiring’ and his honesty in ‘outing’ his illness similarly inspirational.

Perhaps I am a sceptic but having suffered multiple episodes of depression throughout my life (including years of medication), two incidents of anorexia nervosa (including a three month hospitalisation), domestic violence/abuse at the hands of a partner, several failed relationships, at least two failed businesses, significant financial loss, cancer and a daughter who herself suffers from mental illness (depression and anxiety)  - I couldn’t help but think that neither he nor the audience had any real insight into the reality of depression and mental illness more generally.   I know that people look to celebrities as sort of role models including as evidence of strength against adversity, but there are so many more of us that really experience very serious life challenges and who manage to get through them pretty much by ourselves and with our families, whose efforts go unnoticed.  This is not to say that I think we all need this kind of celebrity attention, but that there are many of us who should simply give ourselves more credit for facing and overcoming the challenges we face – sometimes on a daily basis.  I say this because I know there are many people who read this blog who deserve that acknowledgment and who should be proud of the simple achievements they have made.  You guys are the real celebrities.  Cheers to you !!!!

§ 5 Responses to To the Real Celebrities

  • Have been a lot better since starting fluoxetine. I actually noticed the difference the day it kicked in about 3 weeks after starting it! I hope that yourself and your daughter are doing ok at the moment xx

  • JillinoisRN says:

    Well said. The only time I’ve had clinical depression is when I’ve been anorexic and malnourished- so undoubtedly related to something biochemical… add some nutrition and I did much better, but during it, life was hell. Mental illness is probably the widest spread in those who don’t understand it :)

  • How are you doing? You haven’t posted for a while, and I’m missing you!
    I don’t know about you, but I’m finding this post-chemo-pre-scan results period very unnerving. I’ve got a meeting with the oncologist next week, and I’m sure he’s going to tell me it hasn’t worked. I’ve had a fairly easy ride with this bout of chemo, but I really don’t fancy plunging into another 4 months of treatment, if that’s what’s needed.
    On the plus side, I think I’ll have hair for Christmas!
    Wishing you all the best. Let’s hope next year has nicer things in store!

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Thanks Victoria – you are so kind to follow me up. I have been feeling guilty not writing a blog for a while but I have had a few issues at home with my daughter -good and bad and it makes me very distracted and worried. Nonetheless there is plenty to write about so I am about to do one now. I saw my haematologist last week and the news for me is good – the cancer has gone into remission. I have been told it will probably come back but we are all hoping it will not be for a long while. Time will tell. I on the other hand, continue to have no hair and my looks certainly won’t have any for Christmas. For me that is the least of my worries at the moment. My daughter got through school but then crashed at the end – we had to get her medications changed and unless she puts on some serious weight in the next few weeks we will have to have her admitted to an eating disorder hospital in another state. And I am still hoping 2013 will be a better year. I hope your news is good news – you are in my thoughts as I know exactly how worrying it is while you are waiting for that news. I wish you every happiness and also peace for Christmas.

    • suzmareeroche says:

      Hi Victoria. You have been on my mind. How are you going post chemo? My thoughts are with you and I hope 2013 is a better one for yu. Best regards Suz x

We love comments, go on, leave one, you won't regret it (well you might)

What’s this?

You are currently reading To the Real Celebrities at stonesintheroadblog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

